Secret Girls Club

I wish somebody had told me years ago that all you really need is some blush/bronzer, mascara and some lipstick. I’ve been experimenting with makeup a lot this last year, largely because I was considering going to makeup school to supplement my degree and get my foot in the door with regards to film. In any case I learnt a lot but one thing every website I saw advised was to always put foundation on before doing anything.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy the effects of foundation on my skin, and I fully understand its benefits. I have horrible dark circles under my eyes I love that I am able to magically brush them away with that wonderful liquid. But I couldn’t help but feel, every time I put it on, that it was a bit too much. My skin felt caked. Moreover, I don’t have cameras in my face all the time and don’t really have to worry about looking 100% all the time.

So I finally got into observing other people’s makeup up, to try and see where I could find a balance, and today I finally discovered it. Blush, mascara and lipstick/gloss. That’s all you need. Of course you can play around with that as much as you like, add some bbcream for light coverage, or just put some sun cream on to make sure the blush stays on (though you should ALWAYS put on sun cream anyway – yes, even in winter). You can even put on a little eyeliner or some light colored and simple eye-shadow. It’s when you combine all these elements at once that, at least in my opinion, things start to get heavy.

I’m not sure if what I’m saying is just common knowledge, but I was always a little bit of a tomboy all through high school, and have just recently begun to get in touch with my feminine side and learn the little things that it seems like most girls know. How to do your nails, makeup, hair and so on. It’s taken me about a year to figure out makeup and I still paint my nails like a 2 year old. As far as hair goes, mine is so straight and heavy that it refuses any form of manipulation, but thankfully that also means that as long as I keep it clean it looks presentable enough without my having to much. Proper straightening doesn’t take much energy either.

Anyway, it’s a slow learning process, and I am incredibly thankful for the internet and video tutorials for things. Practice makes perfect, right?

On a final note, I had a 30min. swim today followed by 15 minutes in the steam room and another 15 minutes of yoga. I am officially on cloud 9.

Leave a Reply

