Why I started this blog

So I just joined Blog University’s Blogging 101 course, seeing as I’m a newbie at this I felt like I needed an extra hand. In any case the first assignment is to introduce yourself and the purpose of your blog, so I figured I would do just that.

As I’ve mentioned before, I love to write. Ever since I was younger writing was my release. Sometimes I don’t even know what to write about but I just know I need to. My work, up until now, has been mostly private, and I’ll be honest, it took A LOT for me to even create this blog. I finally figured, if I want to be a writer, I better get used to strangers reading and judging my writing publicly. I also thought starting a blog would be a good incentive for me to practice my writing in a more focused and directed manner. I felt like when I wrote for myself there was no pressure to edit, or improve, or to make sure any of it made sense. It just had to make sense to me.There was also no pressure to write, to keep practicing, and to get better.

I had also reached a pretty significant point in my life. I had graduated from University, but I had no career, no contacts, no idea where to even start. As much as I searched online advice was… sparse at best. I seemed like everyone in their early to mid 20s just magically had life figured out right out of Uni. The reality I knew, however, was quite different. I had watched many of my friends panic for almost 2 years after graduating before they managed to score a decent job with a proper career path. So that became my second blog objective. I figured I would help people in similar situations to me understand that they’re not alone, give some sort of advice and perspective on different things you can do to kick start you career and hopefully create a discussion and a support group for people going through something similar.

Finally, I thought I would reach out to 3rd culture kids. So many of my international friends had trouble fitting in after leaving home, including myself. They weren’t sure how to deal with non-international kids, or whether they wanted to continue traveling, or even if they could continue traveling. Then there were the ones who always wanted to travel but never could. With traveling becoming more popular and people moving more often to start a new life I thought I would share my experience with visas, shipping and all that other hassle with anyone looking for advice.

I guess my main objective is to create a community. I don’t pretend to have all the answers or to know everything, I just give my perspective and my experience. For those of you who have different ideas, well I’d be more than happy to hear from you. The point is to help each other out, share what we know, and explore our dreams and ideas together. So if you’ve seen anything that grabs you – get to commenting! I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “Why I started this blog

  1. I am in a pretty similar situation. I just graduated 2 years ago. Had this job in the philippines then moved to the USA for greater opportunities. I am still looking for a job right now and its been months.

    Like

    • It can get soooo frustrating! ! I’m still waiting on my visa so I can’t even start looking for work yet. Stay tuned on to some of my “left brain” posts where I talk a lot about the struggle to start a career. And please coment on them too, I would love to hear what other people are doing differently to develop themselves and stay motivated!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I truly find your post to be AMAZING! I absolutely love the fact that you want to build a community out of your blog and help others. I too chose to start blogging in hopes of helping others as well. And i totally agree that none of us knows everything or has all the answers, but the important thing is that we use our perspectives & experiences to help the next person be [better]. Well done! Xo

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for the encouraging comment πŸ™‚ It can be a little nerve wracking to put your own personal thoughts and writing out there, so it’s a huge comfort to know that people really like it and support it. I look forward to reading through your blog as well πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

