Rest!

Last week, I was bed ridden for about two days, barely able to get out of bed from the pain in my abdomen, going to the bathroom constantly and feeling like my torso had turned itself into a greenhouse. At first I thought I had come down with a case of the stomach flu, or maybe food poisoning.

Turns out my combination of swimming on Monday, Kettlebell on Tuesday, a Cycle & Sculpt on Wednesday and a lentil curry that same day, did not do my body any favours. All I really had was a mixture of over exertion at the gym and… well… lentil curry (need I say more?). Trust me, indigestion feels a WHOLE LOT worse when your abs are also recovering from weightlifting.

article-2320442-19A66162000005DC-960_634x359Here is where I have to stress, once again, the importance of rest. And also where I kick myself for not listening to my own advice. Remember when I wrote about how important it is to take time to rest and relax? This is exactly why.

In the age of social media, where our friends’ successes and achievements seem to be constantly paraded in front of us, it’s easy to turn around and think that we’re not doing enough. I think the best quote I ever read with regards to this is that you can’t compare someone’s highlight reel [read: social media page] to your behind the scenes. People publish the best of themselves on their social media, just as you most likely do as well, and though it might seem like they’re doing so much more, and so much better than you, it’s just a curated version of their own lives.

Each one of us is different, and our bodies can handle different amounts of work. Listen to yourself, listen to your body, do the best you can, and be happy that you have done your best work. Hopefully after last week I’ll have learned to put my own words into practice….

Leave a Reply

